Click here to edit subtitle

Gymnopedie No.1


Erik Satie's Gymnopedies is a series of three short piano pieces that were first published in 1888. These atmospheric pieces, all written in 3/4 time and sharing a common theme and structure, are recognised the world over and are his most famous compositions.

Gymnopedie No.1 is divided into two almost identical parts, with a steady accompanying rhythm of crotchet-minim, crotchet-minim (short-long, short-long) that remains constant throughout - with the exception of the last two bars of each part! This gently lilting background supports an expressive melodic line which creates the occasional dissonance, yet seems impressively tension free.

Item Code: TPBB-034
Duration: 3'10"     
Grade: Suitable for all

Item Added.
Adding Item.