Click here to edit subtitle

Three Christmas Portraits


A delightful suite of three Christmas carols expertly adapted by Philip Doe. This suite of three pieces open with Christmas Day , a dainty and light opening that shows the more delicate aspects of brass playing. The centre piece is a new version of The Coventry Carol , which open with a first verse rendition for quartet before developing a more baroque-style treatment that sits over an ostinato bass line. The movement reaches its climax with flourishes from the cornets leading to a rendition of the carol at fortissimo an d treated with slightly altered harmonies before coming to rest with the opening quartet delivering the tierce de Picardie. The final movement is I Saw Three Ships , with handy interjections of several other carols make for a rousing climax to a enjoyable set of three Christmas portraits.

A soundclip can be found here

Item Code: TPBB-054
Duration: 6'20"
Grade: Suitable for all

Item Added.
Adding Item.