Click here to edit subtitle



Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s symphonic poem Scheherazade is based on One Thousand and One Nights , also known as The Arabian Nights , and combines the composer’s imaginative melody lines and colourful orchestrations with sounds from the East.

Shortly after completing Borodin’s opera Prince Igor (Borodin had died in 1887 leaving the opera unfinished), Rimsky-Korsakov began to write his new work, which he completed in the Summer of 1888. It is divided into four main movements although each one is divided up smaller sections. Each of these movements was given a title, although in later years the composer dispensed with these so that the listener could enjoy the music free from any specific story. Of course over time, and following the composer’s death, these titles were restored.

This new arrangement includes sections of music from each of the four main movements, making a very enjoyable, if slightly truncated, symphonic poem for brass band. The movements are: I. The Sea and Sinbad’s Ship; II. The Story of The Kalendar Prince; III. The Young Prince and Princess; IV: Festival at Baghdad, The Sea and The Ship Breaks against a Cliff.

Item Code: TPBB-058
Duration: c.12’00”
Grade: 2nd Section and above


Item Added.
Adding Item.