Click here to edit subtitle



Terpsichore  is a compendium of more than 300 instrumental dances published in 1612 by the German composer Michael Praetorius. The collection takes its name from the muse of dance. In his introduction Praetorius takes credit for arranging the music rather than composing the tunes. The collection is based on French dance repertoire of the time with dances such as the bourrée, bransles and courante. However, some of the tunes in this compendium have since been identified as originating across Europe, and particuarly England and Spain.

This suite of dances contains just four: Bransle Simple De Novelle , Courante , Galliard and Bransle De Poictou .

Item Code: TPBE-023
Duration: 4'30"

Item Added.
Adding Item.